Michurinskiy prospect, 7/1, building 2, Moscow           11am - 11pm

    

How to cook Mapo Tofu

How to cook Mapo Tofu

Mapo Tofu or, as it is also called, “Pockmarked Old Woman’s Tofu” is one of the most famous dishes of Szechuan cuisine. It is prepared from the traditional set of Chinese products in combination with the sharp and spicy spices, so characteristic of Sichuan province.
The dish is based on tofu, i.e. bean curd It is cut into large pieces and stewed together with minced meat (pork or beef) in a spicy sauce based on Pisyan bean paste. In addition to this pasta, which gives the dish a bright red color and spicy spiciness, the sauce contains garlic, ginger, huadziao (szechuan pepper), soy sauce, fermented soy beans, sugar, corn starch, culinary rice wine and sesame oil. The result is a bright, very fragrant and spicy dish. Spice blend gives it an appetizing flavor, and the tenderness of tofu cheese adds piquancy.
According to legend, this dish appeared during the reign of the Qing Tongzhi dynasty, the ninth emperor of China (1861-1875). At that time, in the north of Chengdu, the capital of Sichuan province, there was a small and very poor hotel, owned by the Chen wife. The husband was engaged in household issues, and the wife was managed in the kitchen. She invented this dish, which was highly appreciated by visitors. The hostess was by then in years, and on her face were pockmarks. The visitors of the tavern, when they recommended the dish to their friends, said: “Pock-marked old woman Chen.” All new visitors came to this dish, which brought a substantial income to old people. In the end, the owners even renamed the hotel “Chen Ma Po Doufu Dian”, or “Inn Tofu Pock-marked Old Woman Chen.”
“The old man’s tofu” is described in one of the most famous collections of recipes of the Son of Chuan cuisine – in the book “Chengdu Review”, published in 1909. Later in the mid-60s, during the period of the cultural revolution and the struggle with the Four Remnants (old habits, traditions, ideas, culture), not only factories and newspapers, but even traditional dishes were renamed. And “Pock-marked old woman’s tofu” was named “Spicy tofu” (in Chinese 豆腐 or Mapa Tofu).

Москва, Мичуринский пр. 7, корп. 1, стр. 2           11:00 - 23:00

Как готовят Мапо Тофу

Как готовят Мапо Тофу

Мапо Тофу или, как его еще называют, «Тофу рябой старухи» — одно из самых известных блюд сычуанськой кухни. Готовят его из традиционного набора китайских продуктов в сочетании с острыми и пряными специями, столь характерных для провинции Сычуань.
В основе блюда – тофу, т.е. соевый творог. Его нарезают крупными кусками и тушат вместе с мясным фаршем (свиным или говяжьим) в остром соусе на основе бобовой пасты Писянь. Кроме этой пасты, придающей блюду ярко-красный цвет и пряную остроту, в состав соуса входят чеснок, имбирь, хуадзяо (сычуанский перец), соевый соус, бобы соевые ферментированные, сахар, кукурузный крахмал, кулинарное рисовое вино и кунжутное масло. В результате получается яркое, очень ароматное и острое блюдо. Смесь специй придает ему аппетитный аромат, а нежность сыра тофу добавляет пикантности.
По легенде это блюдо появилось в период правления династии Цин Тунчжи, девятого императора Китая (1861-1875 г.г.). В то время на севере Чэнду, столице провинции Сычуань, находилась небольшая и очень бедная гостиница, владельцами которой были супруги Чэнь. Муж занимался хозяйственными вопросами, а жена управлялась на кухне. Именно она и придумала это блюдо, которое высоко оценили посетители. Хозяйка была к тому времени в годах, а на лице у нее были оспины. Посетители харчевни, когда рекомендовали блюдо знакомым, говорили: «Тофу рябой старухи Чень». На это блюдо приходили все новые посетители, что принесло старикам солидный доход. В конце концов, владельцы даже гостиницу переименовали «Чэнь Ма По Доуфу Дянь», или «Постоялый двор «Тофу рябой старухи Чэнь».
«Тофу рябой старухи» описан в одном из самых известных сборников рецептов сынчуанськой кухни – в книге «Обзор Чэнду», вышедшей в 1909 году. Позже в середине 60-х годов в период культурной революции и борьбы с Четырмя пережитками (старые привычки, традиции, идеи, культура), переименованию подверглись не только заводы и газеты, но даже традиционные блюда. И «Тофу рябой старухи» получило название – «Острый тофу» (по-китайски 麻辣豆腐 или Мапа Тофу).